Chasing Dreams

Good morning! It’s been a few weeks since I last blogged. So how are you guys? I have been very busy (and stressed) with work lately. Too much pressure going on, with me trying my best to excel, and yet I can’t find a reason why I should work hard. 

If you’ve read my previous blogs, you would know that I don’t really like what I am doing. I have been out of school for 2 and a half years and started working. I still have a few units to take in order to graduate, but I still can’t take them cos of lack of financial support.

Dad has been inconsistent with his income in the past 2 and a half years, which explains why it came to this point. Yeah, it’s good to earn and have money you can spend spoiling yourself, but as what I always say, money is not everything. Just because you have money doesn’t mean you’re happy.

I am intelligent (I am not flaunting it, just saying) and I know I deserve more than this. But because I don’t have a diploma to display, it just makes discrimination more intense. I am very fed up of taking in calls and selling insurances. I just want to sit and direct my own production, or write my own column in a broadsheet. I know I have the guts and talent, but nowadays those aren’t enough, you need a diploma.

If only I could just fake it – take a piece of bond paper and roll it, secure it with a ribbon, and fool everyone that I have a diploma to prove my degree (and my worth). Until now my future is still unsure. Dad got a new job, which is good, but he is still waiting on his first salary. We don’t know when will it be available, since the company who hired him is just starting and everything is still being organized.

I just want to fulfill my dreams, but sometimes I feel that no one wants to help me. I feel like my parents aren’t giving enough effort. Maybe I am just being too selfish, but all my life I have been a great daughter, never had failing grades, never drank liquor or smoked cigarettes (which is genuine, they are not really my thing but no offense guys) and yet this one thing I couldn’t have.

Maybe it’s just timing. As what they say, everything happens for a reason. I’ve been searching for that reason for the past 2 and a half years, and it’s still quite unclear. All I know is that I’ve learned a lot and that I’ve helped my parents survive. It’s hard that all of them are dependent on you – you pay the bills, you budget the expenses and all… but at least I get to take care of them.

I have plans of pursuing my degree next year. I want to prove to everybody who underestimated me that I am more than what they think. I’m not bragging it but I am running for honors. So for all of you people who looked down on me, go ahead, laugh. I will still have the last laugh. Sooner or later you would see me successful, not because I chose to earn money, but I chose to follow my dreams. 

To you, who took time to read this post, follow your dreams even though it’s hard. I’m pretty sure that in the end everything would be worth it. Be inspired by my determination to succeed. 

~ by reyeslovegood on 17/11/2012.

One Response to “Chasing Dreams”

  1. http://weepingintodancing.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

 
